全面移民改革

Immigration Reform

皇后居民的核心身份与从欧洲到亚洲到拉丁美洲的移民的浪潮密不可分,他们在我们的社区中找到了家。因此,我们有责任领导华盛顿进行公平和负责的移民改革斗争,保护每个家庭的完整,为无证美国人提供获得公民身份的合法途径。这样做,我们的社区会更加安全,人们会走出黑暗与执法部门合作,为我们的社区贡献力量。国会承诺全面的移民改革已经有十几年光景,该是他们兑现诺言的时候了。

刑事司法改革

Criminal Justice Reform

美国的监狱收押比率世界最高。刑事司法系统惩罚精神疾病者、移民、有色人种、宗教少数群体和资源有限的人,惩罚比例失衡。刑事司法改革要从减少监狱人口和判处入狱人数做起,根除设陷关押边缘化人口的行为,取消花钱保释制度,为出狱公民提供后续生活途径,降低再犯罪率。

帮助退伍军人和军人家庭    

Veterans and Military Families

高中毕业后,我的弟弟入伍参加了美国空军,直到今天他还在那里服役。通过他的服务,我看到了许多服务人员、退伍军人及其家人所面临的挑战。对于军人来说,重要的是,我们能确保他们能够获得就业培训和工作的机会,提供相应的医疗教育福利,尊敬我们最好最勇敢的人,帮助他们像普通人一样生活。我们还要优先保护军队中的性侵幸存者,以及变性军人为国家服务的权利。皇后区有超过50,000名退伍军人,预计未来十年内数量还会增加,我们需要积极主动的采取行动,让他们能够获得需要的一切帮助。

妇女权利

Women's Rights 

如果我当选为国会议员,我会用我的平台来捍卫女性权利,根除女性受到的无形或无声歧视,特别是有色人种的年轻女性受到的歧视。性别歧视使性别不平等长期存在,并阻碍我们拥有与男性平等的经济机会。尽管女性的受教育水平在不断提高,参加的工作人数创下新高,但同工不同酬仍然是一个长期存在的问题。同样的工作,男性的收入仍然高于女性。同时,女性还一次又一次地被迫捍卫自己的生殖权利。在我们国家的历史中,女性始终处于社会正义运动的前沿,我将在前人斗争遗产的基础上,在国会大厦继续争取性别平等。

LGBTQIA+

无论性取向或性别认同如何,所有美国人都应享有法律规定的平等和自由。目前,还没有全面的联邦法律保护社区居民免受日常生活中,在就业、住房、融资、教育以及获得公共场所和服务领域的免受歧视。

.

PAID FOR BY SANDRA CHOI FOR CONGRESS

PAID FOR BY SANDRA CHOI FOR CONGRESS

Comprehensive Immigration Reform

Queens' identity is inextricably tied to generations of immigrants from Europe to Asia to Latin America that found a home in our community. Therefore, our district has the unique responsibility to lead the fight for fair and responsible immigration reform in Washington--one that keeps families together and provides undocumented Americans with a pathway to citizenship with no criminal penalties. This keeps our neighborhoods safe and brings people out of the dark to cooperate with law enforcement and become productive members of society. In addition to abolishing U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and ending the hostility against and inhumane detention of immigrants, we must support new immigrants by providing federal funding for a New Americans Welcome Center. For decades, Congress has promised comprehensive immigration reform. It’s time that we kept them accountable and hold them to their word.

Criminal Justice Reform

The United States incarcerates a larger share of its population than any other nation in the world. The criminal justice system penalizes people with mental health issues, immigrants, people of color, religious minorities and those with limited resources at a disproportionate rate. Criminal justice reform begins with decreasing the prison population and sentencing fewer people to prison, rooting out predatory practices that trap marginalized populations in the system, ending money bail, and reducing recidivism rates by providing a pathway forward for returning citizens.

Veterans and Military Service Families

After graduating from high school, my younger brother enlisted in the U.S. Air Force, where he still serves today. Through his service, I've seen firsthand the challenges that many service members, veterans and their families face. It is important that we honor the best and bravest among us by making sure they have access to job training and employment opportunities, high quality medical and educational benefits as they transition to civilian life. We also need to protect sexual assault survivors in the military and preserve the right of transgender military service members to serve their nation. With over 50,000 veterans in Queens, and the number of young veterans expected to rise over the coming decade, we need to be proactive and ensure they have access to all the opportunities they need and deserve.

Women's Rights &

Gender Equality

When I am elected to Congress, I will use my platform to defend women and root out the silent and invisible ways in which women, especially young women of color, are discriminated against and which perpetuates gender inequality and prohibits us from access to the same economic opportunities as men. While women are pursuing higher education and entering the workforce in record numbers, equal pay remains an perennial issue with men continuing to earn more than women for the same work. Time after time, women are forced to defend their reproductive rights. Women have been at the frontline of social justice movements throughout our country's history and I will build on the contributions of the women who have come before me by continuing the fight for gender equality in our nation's capitol.

LGBTQIA+

All Americans deserve equal liberty and freedom under the law, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity. Currently, no comprehensive federal law is in place to protect the community from discrimination in everyday life including employment, housing, access to financing, education, and access to public spaces and services. In addition to supporting the full passage of the Equality Act, I will actively support open dialogue in our local communities about protecting our LGBTQ youth from discrimination, rejection, fear, and harassment that may come from an unsupportive environment.

.